Skip to content

An Open Apology

December 26, 2011

This is a writing from more than two years ago that I was recently reminded of.   I find it to be as thought provoking today as when it was originally written.

I write this on the eve of my 42nd birthday, and, unlike many of the things that weigh heavily upon my heart, I do not write this as a rant or a diatribe (though, admittedly, that is what comes naturally to me). No – read this as the title implies, as an apology, a statement of deep regret, an “I am so, so sorry!”

Before I get into the reasons for my apology, let me establish my authority to do so – for the past thirty years, I have been one who has publicly declared my allegiance to Jesus (Yeshua) of Nazareth (some seasons more boldly than others). I have claimed that He is not only the Creator of all that is, but also the One who sustains everything, has all authority and power, and is the soon-coming King who will firmly establish His Kingdom in the earth so that “every knee will bow and every tongue confess” that He alone is Lord. I have known Him since I was a child, and though I have had plenty of prodigal moments in the journey, He has been faithful to keep me clinging to Him as the Source of my life. In the course of my walk with Him, I have been honored with serving in various leadership roles in the Body of Christ, and I am recognized differently in various circles, but this does not qualify me to make the apology that I am about to make. The highest qualification that I can lay claim to before saying what I am about to say is this – I am a son of my Father in Heaven. I am not the son that I hope to become. I am not the son that I know that He has created me to be (though I believe that He will be faithful to bring me to that place), but I am, nonetheless, a son. His son. And as I learn from Him, and as I grow with Him, He is teaching me what it means to be more like Him, and to begin the process of becoming a father. So, the following words come from a son who may be on the verge of someday becoming a father. One who is a part of the Body of Christ in the earth. A member of the Church…

For the remainder of this writing, whenever the term “we” is used, it will be used in reference to the Church, whom I love dearly. As God’s son, I will also speak as one who has authority to speak on its behalf.

I am sorry that we have told you that Christianity was sexy, cool, hip or chic. I am sorry that we told you that being a follower of Christ would improve your social status or your bank account. I’m sorry that we actually lied to you and told you that following Jesus would make your life better. I’m sorry that we told you that the gift of salvation was free without telling you that to redeem it would cost you EVERYTHING.

I’m sorry that we have tried to compete with the world for your attention by trying to prove that we are exciting or “extreme” or the means to an adrenalin rush. I apologize that we have abandoned the simplicity of the Truth and embraced any marketing ploy that seemed semi-attractive. I’m sorry that we have promoted “Christian entertainment” rather than asking ourselves why we need to be entertained. I’m sorry that we have allowed our children to digest forms of entertainment that 50 years ago the most jaded pagan would have thought forbidden.

I’m sorry that we have created the label “religious spirit” that we automatically pin on anyone that might question the morality/acceptability of an issue.

I’m sorry that we have painted a picture of “freedom in Christ” for you that actually portrays lawlessness. I’m saddened that we have told you that worship equates to what you do for two hours on Sunday or which CD’s you play in your car rather than explaining that it is the sum total of the way that you live your lives 24/7.

I’m sorry that our elders have been so afraid of offending you or being labeled “Pharisees” that we won’t point out simple instructions in Godly living like “Honey, why don’t we see if we can’t find something more appropriate for you to wear…we don’t want the boys thinking that you are a prostitute,” or “Son, I think we need to talk about why you feel the need to expose your underwear.”

I’m sorry that we over-corrected from our old “hell-fire and brimstone” tactics to the point that we no longer even teach that there is a Hell, and we have, in fact, taught Grace as a license to sin.

I’m sorry that those of us who claim to be prophets told you that, before Jesus comes back, sports stadiums will be filled with revival meetings without telling you that Jesus said that “because of the increase of wickedness, the love of MOST will grow cold,” without pointing out to you that Jesus wondered if, upon His return, He would “find faith.” Without letting you know that He compared that time to “the days of Noah” and “the days of Lot.” I believe that He who knows the end from the beginning is just better qualified to speak on this subject.

I’m sorry that we taught you to give tithes and offerings to organizations and “ministries” rather than teaching you to be a generous giver who gives everything to Jesus simply because He is Worthy.

I’m sorry that we have taught you that if you are in a position of “professional ministry” you have somehow achieved a special status with God and man that exceeds others. I’m sorry that we have actually fostered the myth that if you embark on God as a career, that you are actually more special to Him.

I grieve over the fact that we have merchandised Jesus to the point that we have traded the eternal Light of the World for a worthless trinket that we hang from our rear view mirrors, a vial of water from the Jordan River or a lovely plaque to adorn your home. I am sorry, because in so doing, we have introduced subtle forms of idolatry that most are blind to.

I am sorry that we taught you that to be a good, Christian parent your job was to bring your adolescent son or daughter to a Wednesday night party every week where the “youth pastor” trained your child up in the way that he should go. I’m sorry that in so doing we have driven wedges between you and your children rather than recognizing the authority that God gave you in your own home and family.

I’m sorry that we have taught you that it was okay to divorce your wife and marry another as long as you had a piece of paper issued by the state in which you reside. I’m sorry that we have allowed you to look upon your marriage as something that disposable. I’m sorry that we have not done a better job of helping guard for you that which God values dearly. I’m sorry that by doing this, we have perverted your understanding of the holiness in the relationship between Bride and Bridegroom.

I am sorry that we have been teaching that it is important to achieve greatness and authority on “the seven mountains” of this earth when Jesus is coming to cause them to crumble and collapse. I’m sorry that we have helped to propagate this myth in His name rather than point out that God’s enemies have always tried to establish strongholds in the high places…rather than point out that “In the last days the mountain of the LORD’s temple will be established as chief among the mountains.”

In short, I’m sorry that we have not done a better job of representing the One who states that He is “the WAY, the TRUTH, and the LIFE.”

I wish that I could say that “I REPENT on behalf of the Church,” (I know that such language is currently in vogue) but no one man can do that. Repentance denotes a change of course, a change in actions. I will try to do my part not to further the actions I’ve apologized for, and I can do my best to encourage my brothers to join with me, but true repentance takes the entire Body shifting its stance, not just one finger.

If I have stepped on anyone’s toes, know that I have bruised my own first. Know that I am owning up to being a perpetrator of much of what has been listed above – if not actively, at least as a passive onlooker. God’s children MUST look different. MUST act different. Not because they are trying to…simply because they ARE different. We are in need of an Ezra revival where we divorce ourselves from the influence of the world around us. Don’t worry…you can still love the lost without becoming one. Jesus did it. He might have been clothed in flesh as one of us, but He was still without sin. May we all have many Selah moments in regards to these issues.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 27, 2011 7:18 am

    Well said.

Leave a comment